The Restart

Well, it finally arrived. The dreaded return to work. And yes, it was just as awful as I had anticipated. I want to keep this blog positive so I will just say this… I believe life is too short to spend doing something you don’t love. I need to find a way to make my job consist of the things I love. I know it’s out there, I just need to take the leap and go after it.

Well it’s been a few days since I blogged so a few quick recaps:

Fri Jan 4th – Had my first local food truck experience at What the Fork. It was incredible! Delish! It was kind of like my last supper and I didn’t even realize it at the time. After leaving the truck I went to pick up my trays for the Invisalign treatment i’m undertaking (it’s currently undertaking me). I had no idea how bad my mouth would hurt instantly, and it still does as I type actually. I keep trying to focus on the positive and those perfect teeth I will finally have that I always wanted. I came home and headed out for a run around Mountain Top with Jason. 3.3 miles covered at a 9:03 pace.

Sat Jan 5th – Got my first foodie penpal e-mail to kick off the process! More to come on this one in the near future, but I can tell you I am super excited to try this! Got a bit of a late start getting going but headed over to Planet Fitness with Jason. I did 20 minutes on the Arc Trainer, 30 minute workout circuit (20 reps on each machine), and then spent another 20 minutes on the treadmill alternating speed walking and jogging. Not a bad effort. Came home got ready and headed out to Ipanema Grill in Scranton for a brazilian steakhouse experience for Jason’s brothers birthday with some friends. We had a great time! I overindulged a bit, but hey, it was the weekend 🙂

Sun Jan 6th – FORCED myself up at 8am to head down to meet the Team in Training crew at 9am for a run. First bad news was I forgot my friggin pedometer! Lots of steps wasted! Second, the dyke was covered in ice so we had to walk a bit to get out to the road (yes, more steps missed). But we finally made it out to the Ave (Wyoming Ave in Edwardsville) and headed out for our journey. I was open as to how many miles I wanted to go and figured I would see how I felt. I took the run at an easy pass and miles flew by with good company and good conversation. I started feeling my legs getting a bit sore around mile 7. I managed to push through to mile 9 before getting back to Kirby Park and being ready to call it a day. We averaged a 9:46 pace which I was pleased with since this was my longest run since the Dallas Marathon (December 9th). I spent most of the rest of the day watching the wildcard football games and enjoying my last official day of vacation.

Mon Jan 7th (aka today!) – After work I definitely needed to unwind so I headed to the Planet Fitness closest to work in Peckville. Spent 20 minutes on the Arc Trainer and then put in a solid 4 miles on the treadmill. I kept turning the speed up further and further as I went. I was flying by the end (and spent)! Came home to watch the second night of the Biggest Loser. LOVE the show and it motivates me so much. Jillian is such an inspiration to me. What I would do to get to train with her or even do what she does. Hmmm, back to my original comment about finding a job where my passion lies. And this post has officially now come around full circle. Nite Nite!

Image

What the Fork – Food Truck – Scranton, PA
Menu: Beef Sliders, Surf and Turf Sliders, & Truffle Fries

Leave a Reply

